Skip to content

Hello World! I’m Megan. I sew.

February 14, 2012

No one may ever read this blog, and that’s fine. I’m starting it as part of a vague new year’s resolution to have less talk and more action when it comes to creative endeavors. Technically, I know that starting a blog means more talk, but my hope is that it will lead to an exponential increase in creative output. Ok, maybe not exponential, but at least increased.

At the end of the day, my goals are to use this blog to

  1. keep a record of what I’ve made and what I want to make,
  2. motivate myself to create even when my instinct is to mindlessly play Angry Birds, and
  3. pay forward some of the inspiration and knowledge that I’ve gotten from other bloggers.

Just in case anyone else ever actually reads this, here’s what you need to know.

  • I’m a stay at home mom/part time librarian with a creative instinct and precious little time to act on it. I fit most of my sewing into small chunks in the evenings after my kids go to bed.
  • I live in Pennsylvania with my husband, my three kids (aged 2, 5, and 7), my two sewing machines, and my two sergers. If my 7 year old had her way we’d also have a husky, but sadly for her, I’m allergic.
  • I’m a little picky about privacy and the Internet, so I probably won’t include much more identifying info here than that last sentence. Sorry, I know that makes it all less interesting, but I’ll do my best to overcompensate with my witty prose and meaningful subject matter.
  • I mostly sew clothes for myself and my kids, but I occasionally venture into dolls and accessories.
  • I used to work in IT but after having kids, I’m pretty sure that part of my brain stopped working. Or at least stopped caring.
  • I ‘ve been sewing since I was in elementary school.
  • I get so much creative inspiration from the sewing blogs I read. I’ll get them into a blogroll here ASAP.
  • I have a nasty habit of employing sarcasm in liberal doses, and then worrying that the people I’m talking to didn’t realize I was kidding around. Like when I refer to my witty prose and meaningful subject matter. I hope you know I was joking about that.

So that’s the what. Next up: what I made for a soon-to-be-born baby that will be joining our extended family. I know – riveting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane Benson permalink
    May 3, 2012 7:21 am

    I think your witty prose is awesome. You sure have a way with words…….and sewing! Good job.

Tell Me What You Think

