Skip to content

Kids Clothes Week Challenge: Day 3

April 25, 2012

Ugh.  That’s really all I can say.  For some reason the third pair of pants that I had for M just did not want to have a waistband.  For real.  I sewed it up three separate times, and each time it gave me trouble.  I don’t know what happened or why it was different (I used 1.25″ wide elastic instead of .75″ or 1″, maybe that was the problem?) but it gapped, it bunched, it practically got up in my face and blew raspberries at me.  Ultimately I finished them but it was not a happy hour and a half at the sewing machine, as I sewed, picked out the seam, sewed again, picked out the seam again, etc.

I had hoped to get A’s pj pants all cut out tonight, but three nights of staying up til 11, after about three months of going to bed at 8:30 or 9 (I’ve learned to not to challenge the first trimester exhaustion, and instead just put up the white flag and fall into bed at ridiculously early hours) have caught up with me.  So I’ll post this picture and be done with it.  Please ignore the enormous thread on the pant leg.  Really, everything about these pants tonight has been about as difficult as it could be.

PJ Pants #3

In the meantime: I can’t stop thinking about this pattern, because I saw this post on Sascha Romeo’s blog.  Seriously.  I need this pattern now.  And also this one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 10:22 pm

    Fun pants!! I hope you’ll link them up to Make It Wear It this week!

    • April 26, 2012 6:45 pm

      Thanks, Andrea! I linked to them on your Make It Wear It, and I’m embarrassed to say I put *my* name instead of the picture’s name. Oh well, one other person did that too. Anyway, thanks for commenting on the PJ pants! My daughter likes them so I’ve stopped resenting them so deeply today.

  2. CharleyGynn permalink
    July 30, 2013 5:20 pm

    Love this fabric, I’d love these trousers too 🙂 x

    • July 30, 2013 6:48 pm

      Thanks! It was a hand-me-down from my mom. I guess it made cute pants, even if they were a pain. It’s funny looking at them a year later – I think they’d come to M’s knees now!

Tell Me What You Think

