Skip to content

Kids Clothes Week Challenge Recap: I bailed

April 30, 2012

That’s right, I bailed on KCWC. Things were going so well, and then the third pair of pj pants kicked my butt, and exhaustion set in and I just couldn’t get myself back to the sewing machine. So I bailed. I learned some valuable things, though: 1) I can sew in the evening or blog in the evening, but not both, at least not while I’m pregnant, and 2) I vastly prefer using commercial patterns to drafting my own.  Both valuable lessons.

I finally got back on the sewing horse last night when I felt inspired to make a skirt that’s been hanging over my head for a couple of years.  When A was 3 or 4 years old, I sewed her a dress out of what may have been her most perfect fabric ever: yellow, embroidered with sun-like flowers, and adorned with clear sequins that glimmer in the light.  To say that she was devastated when she outgrew it and had to pass it down to her sister is a vast understatement.  At some point I made a vague statement about possibly making a skirt out of the fabric remnants, she took it as a promise, and I’ve been asked when the skirt would be made approximately ten million times since then.

Last night was the night.  I had a plan to make a ruffled skirt using this tutorial but when I unfolded the fabric remnant and realized that I only had a half a yard with a big chunk cut out of it (presumably for the old dress bodice), I almost despaired.  After a lot of sighing from me and some helpful insights from Mr. Sews, I realized that an A-line skirt was just barely doable if I cut the top six inches of the skirt out separately from the bottom portion of the skirt and then pieced the two parts together.  I loosely used this tutorial from Lynne of Sugar City Journal to plan out the skirt, but I added a lining and then created the casing for the elastic by sewing the skirt and lining together with a 1/2″ seam allowance, turning them right sides out, and then sewing another line about an inch below.  Since I needed every available inch of the fabric to cover my seven year old’s exceptionally long legs, this gave me about 3/4″ of length that would have otherwise been hidden in the elastic casing.  Woohoo!

20120430-175949.jpg

A was very excited when she woke up to find her almost finished skirt at her dining room chair this morning.  We did a quick fitting before she changed into her uniform and headed off to first grade, and then I sewed up the elastic, finished the casing, and hemmed the skirt and lining while J was refusing to nap in his crib.  She put the skirt on the second she got home and headed out to play.

20120430-175753.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 7:32 pm

    Very cute! I’ve had to piece things together on some of my girls’ favorite fabrics too!

    • April 30, 2012 8:03 pm

      Thanks! I had some trim I was going to apply to cover the seam, but I actually think it’s unnecessary so I left it off. A was a big fan.

  2. May 4, 2012 5:46 pm

    It looks great! You did a wonderful job!

    • May 4, 2012 7:01 pm

      Thanks, Andrea! And thanks for hosting Make It Wear It! It’s fun to see what other people are making. 🙂

  3. May 7, 2012 6:02 pm

    Hey Megan! This is Jenna from Sophisticated Seams/Seamstress in Training (man, I really should choose an identity & just go with it LOL). I replied to your comment on my blog but thought I’d post here to make sure you see it 🙂 And I love seeing your creations! I’m always on the lookout for fellow bloggers who sew for their kiddos. 🙂

    Fabric shopping online can be so intimidating!!! I do feel like I’m starting to get the hang of it though. 🙂 I LOVE fabric.com. They have a ton of knits, right now my favorite is this stuff:
    https://www.fabric.com/CategoryDetail.aspx?CategoryID=00cc5f39-a2ce-45af-994a-df6f05b9168f
    Fabric.com also has a great return policy & you can always get swatches.

    Also, fashionfabricsclub.com is really cheap & I can’t say that I’ve ever been disappointed in what I’ve received. Most of the knits I’ve found are pretty lightweight, but still good quality. They do take a while to ship, though.

    GirlCharlee.com has some really cute prints & she ships out super fast; great customer service, too.

    Hope that helps! For the most part it’s hit or miss. The biggest challenge I’ve found is getting knits that are thick enough to make into skirts…I’ve found tons that are great for t-shirts, but too sheer for bottoms.

Tell Me What You Think

