Skip to content

Reverse Stitch: Mermaiden

May 12, 2012

Life has been very busy lately (househunting!  school fundraisers!  ballet recitals!), and while I have any number of unfinished projects, nothing’s quite ready to have its own dedicated blog post.  But I don’t want to get out of the habit of posting, as I have found that it keeps me inspired and gives me motivation to get stuff done, so today’s a good day to write about something I finished a while ago.

For Valentine’s Day, both M and A got handmade gifts.  I’ll show A’s another day, and focus on M’s: the Mermaiden from Wee Wonderfuls: 24 Dolls to Sew and Love.  I love Hillary’s blog, as well as her sense of design and style.  I made Chloe and Louise for the girls a couple of years ago, and have been working on an embroidery pattern from the Wee Wonderfuls store for about 3  years now.  All very good stuff.  This was the first pattern that I made from the book though, and it was so, so interesting.

Mermaiden close up

What really surprised me was the construction of the doll – it’s sort of hard to explain, but the hair and fin are both sewn together as fabric pockets that you slide over the basic doll body and then stitch into place.  Very unusual and super quick & easy.  A nice on-the-go project once you get the basic pieces constructed (not that I ever do projects on the go, since I’m usually chasing after my 2 year old climber/runner).  Since M has always had a deep, deep love for a certain Disney mermaid (I’ll try not to get started on how I feel about that), I used a turquoise shimmery rayon-y fabric from the stash that I inherited from Mr. Sews’ grandma (I first used some iron-on interfacing to back it up since I know from past experience that it’s fragile as all get-out otherwise) for the body and some straight up red glittery satin for the hair.  She’s small but she packs a pretty fierce cuteness punch.

M was happy to meet the Mermaiden, and includes her among her menagerie of random collected objects (she’s our family packrat… cleaning out underneath her bed is always an adventure not to be undertaken by the faint of heart).  She spent Valentine’s Day afternoon cutting out paper rocks for her and getting her all set up for sunbathing.

Sunbathing Mermaiden

No comments yet

Tell Me What You Think

