Skip to content

My own little Units maternity wardrobe

June 8, 2012

I laughed when I read this post about Units, the knits store from the 80’s, at Simple Simon & Co the other day.  I’m guessing I was in maybe 4th grade or so when Units hit it big in my little city (though we tend to be 5 or so  years behind what the rest of the world is doing) and even then I thought it made a lot of sense.  I mean really, all those simple pieces, in cool colors, that you can mix and match?  Genius.  And now, since having purchased 6 yards of knit fabric to make t-shirts, it looks like I’m setting out to produce my own little Units maternity wardrobe.

When I bought the fabric, I took a guess at how much I’d need and bought 1.5 yards of green, 1.5 yards of taupe, and 3 yards of black.  The 1.5 yards produced one t-shirt with enough left over for something, but not for a whole t-shirt.  I decided to trace a knit maternity skirt from Old Navy and give that a shot.  I had enough green for the skirt part, and then I got the belly band part from the 3 yards of black.

knit maternity skirt

And here’s what I came up with… just in time to get it into the Skirt Week 2012 Flickr pool before it closes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dressesandme permalink
    June 9, 2012 2:44 am

    Looks great!

    • June 9, 2012 8:48 am

      Thanks! Now I have something to wear today without having to do laundry. 😉

Tell Me What You Think

