Skip to content

There goes that plan.

July 20, 2013
tags: , , ,

My 3 year old son, J, broke his leg on Wednesday. We’re lucky to have many wonderful friends and neighbors who were willing to help us out in an emergency, especially since both my parents an my in-laws are out of town. These wonderful people watched over my girls as I took J in the ambulance to the ER and over the following 24 hours that he was in the hospital, and continue to offer to help beyond that.

It’s going to be a long 6-8 weeks, as the cast leaves him unable to even sit up, but he’s doing about as well as you could expect and we’ll take it day by day. We’re grateful that his prognosis is very good, and surprised anew by the presence of a wheelchair in our living room every time we come down the stairs.

As she headed over to my neighbor’s house with the ambulance on its way, M (my 6 year old) was heard saying “This totally ruins my plans for the afternoon!”. I think she spoke for all of us in that moment. My grand KCWC plan is definitely on hold indefinitely, as something tells me that an immobile 3 year old and a newly mobile 9 month old are going to leave little time free for extras. Such is life. Messy, and chaotic, but ultimately pretty beautiful. Or so I tell myself.

I’ll see you when I see you, little blog.

No comments yet

Tell Me What You Think

