Skip to content

Skater Dresses 3, 4, and 5

August 17, 2013

I love making Skater Dresses.

I don’t really know how else to put it… It’s a fantastic pattern, it’s the perfect dress for my girls, it’s super easy to sew, it’s just fantastic all around.

20130817-213858.jpg

When I first learned how to sew knits through a basic t-shirt sewing class, it was exciting – like a world of (very practical) possibilities had been opened to me, sewing-wise. Especially since my kids pretty much live in knits; if you see them in woven fabric you can safely assume it’s a holiday or a special occasion. Except… Really cute patterns seemed scarce. Once my girls graduated from toddler sizes and most of the big box clothing stores assumed they were ready to start dressing like teenaged girls (I’m looking at you, Old Navy and Target), I would eye the slightly more modest (but kind of expensive for what they are) knit dresses in the Lands End catalogs and think “That shouldn’t be hard to make…” But it was, because I’m lost without a pattern.

Enter the Skater Dress pattern into my life, just a few months ago. It’s like the skies opened up and the angels began to sing. Perfect. And almost identical to the dresses from Lands End. But way cheaper.

Expect to see a few more of these coming up soon.

20130817-215121.jpg

Skater Dress 3 Details:
Size 5/6, made for my 6 year old daughter in blue polka dots from JoAnn. The only modification I made was to use a slightly wider seam allowance on the sides, as it was slightly too wide on M. Other than that, as written. This is the perfect dress for M.

20130817-215259.jpg

Skater Dresses 4 & 5 Details:
Both are size 18 mo/2T, made for my 18 mo old niece. No idea if they will fit her as she lives across the country and we last saw her several months ago, but if not she’ll grow into them. Blue polka dots and pink flowers both from JoAnn. The pink flowers also made an appearance in a baby outfit I made for her forever ago. Again added a bit to the seam allowance.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2013 2:21 am

    You’ve made my day! So happy to hear you like my pattern šŸ™‚

    • August 19, 2013 10:20 pm

      Thanks, Amanda! I really do love it. I’m planning to make some long sleeved ones next… Will post them to the Flickr pool once they’re done.

  2. August 21, 2013 11:45 am

    These look so comfortable and I love the fabrics you picked! I’ll have to try this pattern out once I get over my fear of sewing knits šŸ™‚

    • August 21, 2013 1:29 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth! Once I got over the fear factor, I actually found that sewing knits is in a lot of ways easier than sewing woven fabrics – the stretchiness allows much more leeway for getting a good fit. And if you have a serger it’s even easier. Amanda (who made the Skater dress pattern) has a series of posts with tips on sewing knits on her blog that’s a great resource for getting started: http://kitschycoo.blogspot.com/p/sewing-with-knits.html?m=1

Tell Me What You Think

